P1010232

P1010232

Happy Monday! Ugh, not really, I mean let’s be honest, very few people actually like Mondays and I personally am not one of them. However, I do hope that everyone had a better day than I did. My laptop broke this morning and currently I am on the phone with my dad trying to fix the problem and hoping that I won’t have to pay for my computer to get fixed or get a new computer altogether. It’s not looking too good though. On top of that, the whole search for a summer job isn’t going well; I applied to two more places today and both of them told me that they probably won’t be contacting me because they are looking for people who can stay on through the fall, so that’s adding to my stress level as well. One more thing (because these things just seem to come in threes) is that I’ve been having allergy issues all day and am ridiculously congested, which isn’t a huge deal, but it’s unpleasant nonetheless. On the upside though, my cupcakes turned out surprisingly well, so that was pretty cool. I made an olive oil cake, which I’ve heard of but never tried before but for the frosting I wanted to use the mint butter cream that I had left over from yesterday’s cupcakes, which is why I tried out the olive oil cake in the first place. I wanted something that would go with the mint, but something different from the obvious (but always delicious) pairing of chocolate and mint. Due to my lack of computer and absence of an actual recipe for olive oil cake, I took a basic vanilla cupcake recipe and modified it a bit. I was pleasantly surprised with the results, even though it only yielded five small-ish cupcakes, the texture was good and the olive oil flavor was subtle but still present and I think it went well with the mint. The quantity isn’t an issue anyways, because like I mentioned in my previous post, I can’t be making batches of a dozen cupcakes every single day.

Leave a Reply

