P1010345

P1010345

Happy Day After the Fourth of July (occasionally referred to as the 5th of July interestingly enough)! I did in fact make cupcakes yesterday, I just didn’t get around to posting about them until this morning because we had a few people over and I got caught up with that and forgot to take a picture. Luckily there were some left over cupcakes to photograph and have for breakfast. Before any one gets horribly offended by the idea of eating cupcakes for breakfast, let me just say that these were more like muffins than cupcakes, so it’s not as bad as it sounds, I promise. I figured since it was July Fourth I might try to go a little patriotic with my cupcakes just for fun, but I didn’t have any food coloring, so I had to figure out a different way to achieve a red, white, and blue type effect. We had some frozen blueberries and strawberries in the freezer, so I split the batter (which was a plain cake batter deal) in half and put blueberries in one half and strawberries in the other. The idea was to mix the fruit in and hope that it would color the batter a little and then marble the two batters together. The blueberries turned their batter a bit purple-ish/blue-ish, but unfortunately the strawberries didn’t do much color wise. The white in this whole equation is a vanilla glaze. Even though they weren’t the most festive looking cupcakes, they still came out tasting pretty good and were definitely convenient for breakfast this morning.

Leave a Reply

