Adult Supervision Necessary…

Happy Monday! It was an interesting day for me, this morning I did my nails because they were crazy chipped and I’m one of those people who gets bugged by that, and since I like to try out different fun nail designs, I thought I’d try doing a couple of bunnies on my nails, because bunnies are adorable and it seemed relatively simple.

Image

Super cute! I only did the two bunnies and the heart because I haven’t done anything like this with my nails before, I just mess around with color combinations and taping, so I didn’t want to spend and inordinate amount of time on my nails, plus I figured that trying to do my right hand would just be a disaster because I’m right handed, therefore it just wasn’t going to work out. I also don’t like spending a whole lot of time on my nails because I’m a major klutz and any nail polish I have on usually gets chipped in about five minutes, so I don’t want to waste time that I could be using for other things.

I also did groceries today (fascinating I know) and there’s a Michael’s conveniently located there as well, so I stopped there because I needed some paint for the art projects I’m working on at the moment. I also had to pick up some henna powder because after seeing mine, a couple of our friends wanted in on the henna thing, so I said I’d hook them up and do some sweet “tattoos”. I’ll probably take pictures of my handiwork, so whenever we do that, I’ll most likely share. I also learned that I really shouldn’t be allowed in a craft store by myself (hence today’s title … although I just realized that legally I’m an adult, so I guess it doesn’t actually work … oh well) because I happened to be near where all the pretty ribbons are … and they were on sale. Yeah, I impulse bought two spools of ribbon. They were just so cute though!Image

(my craft store purchases … everything that was on my list and then some) I can’t believe they’re both pink too, I so don’t think of myself as a “pink person”, but I actually have kind of a lot of pink stuff … I guess it depends on the kind of pink really. Plus they’re whales and birds, and they didn’t have them in any other colors, so pink it was.

Today’s cupcakes were another home run; I wanted to do chocolate and caramel cupcakes and I stumbled across a recipe for chocolate caramel cupcakes with caramel and cream cheese frosting. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before but I’ll say it again; I adore cream cheese frosting. It is simply amazing, I don’t know why or how it’s so good, it just is. What I did for these was make a chocolate cake and then do some caramel sauce from scratch, which I’ve never made before, so I thought that was kind of cool. Once the cupcakes came out of the oven and cooled a bit, I took out a bit from the center of each and filled the hole with half of the caramel sauce. Then I put the pieces I’d taken out back in the holes and frosted the cupcakes. We didn’t eat the cupcakes immediately after I finished making them so the caramel in the center actually soaked into the cake a bit creating this super moist caramel-y center which was just awesome. The frosting was lucky to even make it onto the cake; Andrea and I did a taste test and were tempted to just sit there and eat it with spoons. That can still happen though because there’s some left over, which I am looking forward to enjoying at some point in the future … probably the very near future. It’s a tough call as to whether I should use it in something else or just get out spoons for everybody to eat it straight… We’ll just have to see what happens I guess. In the mean time, here’s the picture for these lovely cupcakes.Image

(and some left over sparklers from the 4th of July. They were just sitting on the counter and they’re pretty colors, so they got to be photographed with the cupcakes)

One thought on “Adult Supervision Necessary…

  1. Cute nails! At the risk of sounding like Devin … you should have lite the sparklers (hehe) but seriously the lightning on that photo is better than some of the darker ones…good job

Leave a Reply

