Just Like in The Parent Trap!

Today’s cupcakes had me reminiscing about my childhood a bit because I was planning on making Oreo brownie cupcakes when for some reason I randomly remembered The Parent Trap, which is a movie we grew up with and that I still love to this day. For those who don’t recall, the girls in it bond over the fact that they both like to eat Oreos with peanut butter, which I have tried and it’s delicious of course. This recollection gave me the idea to work peanut butter into the cupcakes somehow, and that’s how we ended up with Oreo brownie cupcakes with peanut butter filling. They weren’t the prettiest cupcakes ever and were actually a little dry because I got distracted and left them in the oven a bit long (shh, don’t tell anyone, it’ll ruin my street cred) but they still got good reviews from everybody and they tasted good, so it’s okay.

Image

I also tried out a recipe for homemade pretzels today because I love pretzels but there isn’t always a conveniently located Auntie Anne’s, so when I found a recipe that claimed to be as good as Auntie Anne’s, I just had to try it out. I’m super glad that I did because they came out really good and were way easy to make, so I’m definitely going to be keeping the recipe for future use. Here they are, all golden brown and delicious… Image

Those were a big hit as well and since the recipe made twelve and there are currently three left in the kitchen, I would call these a success. Andrea and I considered the possibility of me making a cheese sauce for these but then we realized we have a jar of queso in the fridge, and wouldn’t you know it, it tastes pretty great on the pretzels! Personally I’m pretty jazzed to have found this recipe and like I said, it was actually pretty simple, so yay for that, I now no longer need to locate an Auntie Anne’s in order to enjoy a yummy pretzel.

2 thoughts on “Just Like in The Parent Trap!

  1. Cupcakes and pretzels look yummy! Got the Martha Stewart cupcake book from the library today ,thinking I want Oreo cupcakes, just can’t justify it …who will eat them all, it would just be silly to make them and drive to Ithaca to eat them with you … or would it???

Leave a Reply

