Welcome to the Family

Little life tidbit about me, I’m listening to music basically 24/7 and I’ve been listening to Avenged Sevenfold a lot lately and Welcome to the Family is one of my favorites at the moment. Good stuff. Anyhow, today’s cupcakes were one of the particularly good ones where I really think I’ve out done myself and hope that I’ll be able to create more cupcakes just as awesome within the next 365 minus however many days I’ve been doing this for. They were chocolate caramel pretzel cupcakes and yes, they were just as good as the name sounds. They had a salty, crunchy pretzel crust, a really good chocolate cake (I’m not kidding, it’s one of the better chocolate cupcake recipes I’ve found), caramel filling and chocolate ganache. They were then finished off with more caramel on top and some crushed up pretzels. I got the recipe from a blog called Frosted Bakery and I’ve just got to give this girl props because it’s one good recipe. I was having issues with the caramel sauce not turning caramel-y but Jo helped me out and we got that in order, although it did crystallize a bit as in I left it to cool while I ate my dinner, went back into the kitchen, saw it and exclaimed “Andrea I’ve created a monster!” (or something along those lines).

Image

Its appearance worried me a bit but it tasted fine so I went ahead and used it and it worked out well, so I guess that stuff just kind of happens. Anyways, here’s the link to the recipe http://frostedbakery.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/chocolate-caramel-pretzel-cupcakes/ and a picture of the finished cupcakes.

Image

Here’s wishing everyone a happy weekend, go bake some cupcakes or something.

Leave a Reply

