Hump Day, Part 2

After this morning’s lengthy post on my life this one is just going to be a quickie about today’s cupcakes since today was pretty chill anyways, nothing really exciting to share. Today’s cupcakes were peanut butter caramel apple cupcakes. The recipe is from a blog called Frosted Bakery, but with some alterations of my own as usual. Here’s the recipe http://frostedbakery.wordpress.com/2011/11/03/peanut-butter-caramel-apple-cupcakes/ and a picture of the cupcakes and then I’ll fill you in on what I changed up.

Image

So the cake was peanut butter but instead of egg, I used a mashed up banana because it was a bit too ripe, plus we were out of eggs. I also cut out the butter completely because we always seem to run out of butter really quickly, plus it just seems healthier and I can still get good cupcakes even when I cut back on the amount of butter so I don’t see why not. I did add maybe a tablespoon of canola oil as somewhat of a replacement, but compared to the amount of butter that is called for, that doesn’t seem bad. I also used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream because it’s what I had in the fridge, plus I’ve done it before and it works just as well really. I actually left out the caramel sauce in the middle and just had apples, although that wasn’t on purpose, it’s just because I have issues reading directions apparently. Then for the frosting I basically disregarded the recipe and instead used about a tablespoon of margarine, a little confectioner’s sugar (I’m not sure on the amounts of anything but the margarine because I didn’t measure), some cream cheese, I’d guess about a third of a cup, and about a third of a cup of caramel that was left over from the caramel chocolate pretzel cupcakes I made on Friday. It turned out more like an icing than a frosting, but still tasted really good, so no complaints there. Using the banana as an egg substitute also worked out nicely, although I’d say that really depends on what you’re using it for because there was a bit of banana flavor, it just went well with everything else in the cupcakes so it happened to work out well in this case. However, there are some cases where banana flavor probably wouldn’t be appreciated, so that’s something to keep in mind for future reference I guess.

Leave a Reply

