Breakfast of Champions (Eggless House, Day 2)

As the title implies, today is the second full day that we’ve had no eggs in this house and once I get around to making cupcakes, it’ll be the third day that I’ve made cupcakes without eggs. I’ve also made brownies and waffles without eggs and since both were delicious, I’ve reached the conclusion that eggs actually aren’t necessarily a requirement when baking. I’ll tell you more about that in a minute though, first let’s chat about yesterday’s cupcakes because they were kind of interesting, but in a good way. They were chocolate chip pancake cupcakes with maple butter cream frosting (recipe here

http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/mini-chocolate-chip-maple-pancake-cupcakes/). They were really good and actually tasted kind of like pancakes if that makes sense for cupcakes to be able to do that. The frosting was really interesting because the syrup I used was butter flavored pancake syrup I believe, so the frosting tasted kind of buttery which sounds gross but it worked really well with the cupcakes. I also drizzled a little bit of extra syrup on top as per Andrea’s suggestion, because really how could that be an issue?

Image

They came out super white and under done looking but they were actually cooked all the way through, so I guess that’s just the color they were…

This morning I had a craving for brownies, so I decided to whip up a batch of those and I wanted to use cream cheese in them somehow, just because I felt like it. I think that the best baking comes out of random cravings sometimes because I made these brownies with some chopped up semisweet chocolate that I had in the fridge left over from something or other and then when I was making up a cream cheese filling type deal to swirl in I decided to add some peanut butter and that was just kind of magical. Here are the resulting brownies, minus a corner piece because of course I had to try one and they were as good as I thought they would be.

Image

Plus corner pieces are my favorite ones so I absolutely could not resist a nice gooey, warm corner piece of brownie fresh from the oven. I totally almost burned my tongue for that. I would share the recipe for these brownies but I honestly didn’t follow one. I glanced at a recipe to get an idea of what to use and how much of it to use for the brownie base but I kind of ignored half of it and did my own thing until it looked and tasted like brownie batter is supposed to look and taste and then for the cream cheese peanut butter swirl I just kind of did my own thing until it tasted good and was a good consistency to swirl in with the brownies. It’s kind of funny really because I used to be one of those people who’s really meticulous about following directions and measuring and such but since starting this blog and baking every day, I’ve kind of thrown that out the window. It’s working out well though, I think if you do something enough you just kind of get a sense for how to do it even without directions. Either that or I just get lucky an awful lot, but hey the cupcakes are good so I’ll take it.

For breakfast this morning I was in a mood for waffles because I have a minor obsession with waffles and hadn’t had any in a while, so I consulted the internet to see if eggless waffles could happen and lo and behold, it is totally possible to make waffles without eggs. Darn good waffles too, I halved the recipe I found here

http://andiadams.org/2010/12/29/eggless-waffles/ and it made three waffles, which were nice and thick and really good. I had one and a half for breakfast with some frozen blueberries and syrup and then for lunch I had the other waffle and a half and I made one of them into a waffle “pizza” by throwing on some tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese and it was so good.

Leave a Reply

