The Pixie Cut

I finally got my hair cut today which I was super jazzed about because I haven’t gotten it cut since the start of summer and it just got way too long for my liking (although keep in mind that I keep my hair short, so my “way too long” is very relative). Even so, it’s all a matter of personal preference and I prefer for my hair to stay super short, so I’m so happy for it to be nice and short again. I always especially love the feeling of the back of my head because the woman who cuts my hair takes it way short back there and it gets really soft which is cool. Anyways, I won’t obsess about my hair any more, I’ll move on to baked goods. Not only did I bake the usual cupcakes, I also made pretzel buns today, which were simply awesome. It’s another recipe from Yammie’s Noshery and I’m seriously beginning to want to be bffs with this girl because her stuff is just consistently really really good.

Image

I mean come on, how good do those look? We had them for dinner with egg salad on them and honestly I’m not really a fan of eggs, but my mom threw together some good egg salad and the combination – plus a slice of cheese just because cheese makes almost anything better – was quite tasty. Here’s the recipe and you guys seriously need to go try these right now …. Well okay maybe not right now because it’s kind of late, although if you’re like me midnight baking is actually a thing that happens sometimes. Anyways, the recipe, here it is http://www.yammiesnoshery.com/2012/05/pretzel-buns.html .

Today’s cupcakes were “Caramel Macchiato” cupcakes, which were a coffee cupcake topped with whipped cream and caramel sauce. I kind of cheated on the caramel sauce because I didn’t feel like making it from scratch and we had some in a jar in the fridge, so I used that instead but other than that and leaving out the Kahlua because we just don’t have any I stuck to the recipe this time, so here it is http://mybutteryfingers.blogspot.com/2010/04/caramel-macchiato-cupcakes.html. Actually that might be a lie, I might have messed with the batter a bit, I can’t remember now … eh whatever, it’s not that important. I made a booboo though when I was baking off the cupcakes; I checked them and they needed maybe another minute and a half to two minutes but then I got distracted and forgot about them so they kind of ended up baking for about six or seven more minutes, which is a big difference when you’re talking cupcakes, especially mini cupcakes, so they came out a little dry. Okay, more than a little, but at least they still tasted good. They looked really good too.

Image

The caramel probably didn’t have to be dripping over the sides quite so messily, but I think it looks really delicious and inviting like that, so I did it on purpose. I mean what’s life without a little mess once in a while, right?

Leave a Reply

