Reasons to Love Fall

1. Pumpkin Spice Lattes

2. It’s the perfect time of year to wear the mini skirt, tights, cute boots combos that I’m perhaps a little too fond of (knee socks are optional here but usually a plus in my opinion)

3. Apple picking and all of the lovely things that accompany it – apple pie, home made applesauce, etc.

4. The colors; leaves changing are just gorgeous, which brings me to my next reason…

5. Jumping in leaves. Granted I haven’t done this in a while since I’m busy with school and don’t really have time to rake, plus my college is in a city so there’s not really an abundance of space in which to create a leaf pile, but when the opportunity arises it’s definitely fun to feel like a five year old again. Just try not to think too hard about what those leaves have been doing/where they’ve been.

6. Yesterday’s reason to love fall? Pumpkin peanut butter whoopie pies. The kitchen literally smelled like fall when these were baking, it was awesome. I stumbled across this recipe yesterday afternoon http://www.eatrunread.com/2010/10/cake-of-week-pumpkin-and-peanut-butter.html and was in the mood to bake but wasn’t quite sure what I felt like; not cupcakes, not cookies, I almost wanted to bake a cake, but that seemed like a bit much for just a random Sunday afternoon, so whoopie pies were actually the perfect solution. They’re as easy as baking cookies but the filling is reminiscent of frosting and the texture is more cake like than cookie-ish to me. It reminds me of when you are baking a layer cake and need to trim some cake off of the top of your layers so that they are nice and flat for stacking. Now in my house this was always a fun thing for us because our mom would save the scraps and then put a bit of frosting in between them and make little sandwiches out of it for us, so whoopie pies remind me of that a bit. They’re also just really cute for some reason I mean doesn’t a plate full of whoopie pies look so inviting and yummy? I sure think so.

Image

Just fall foods in general are pretty swell I think – I’m not talking Thanksgiving here either, to be honest I don’t find the Thanksgiving-type foods too exciting, but things like my mom’s home made applesauce, apple cider, the aforementioned pumpkin spice latte, pumpkin – themed desserts, squash, etc. Autumn foods are just warm and cozy in a way, which I personally really enjoy. Andrea made us some roasted squash for dinner last night, and it was awesome. Super simple too, you just cut your squash in half, stick it in the oven for an hour-ish I think and then take the skin off and mix the insides together with some butter and brown sugar. That is literally all you need to do, but it’s so good.

Speaking of good food, tonight Andrea and I made dinner; she put together some awesome home made macaroni and cheese and I made stuffed cheese buns from a recipe I found on Yammie’s Noshery. Here’s the link http://www.yammiesnoshery.com/2012/08/peetas-stuffed-cheese-buns.html and I’m telling you guys, I have yet to try a recipe from this girl’s blog that hasn’t been kind of fabulous and these were no exception. You make the dough and then wrap pieces of dough around chunks of mozzarella cheese and then you sprinkle even more cheese on top before baking them off. Here’s one that burst a bit in the oven and you can see the cheese just oozing out.

Yum.

The recipe made about two dozen of these too, so there are plenty of leftovers to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

